10 Things Every Boy Should Own

Posted on Updated on

This is a list of things that every boy (no matter the age) should own. So sit back, put on your reading glasses, and enjoy!

  • Item X: Various Fasteners – Everything needs to fastened sometime or another. Whether it be tools, forts in the woods, or little brothers. I recommend always having duct tape, rope, and a collection of glue on hand at all times. Tip: glue a coin to the driveway and watch people’s reactions.
  • Item IX: A Collection (of something) – It really doesn’t matter what. I happen to collect old cameras and rocks. and coins and keys… Every boy should have a collection of something to show off to his friends and family. I even recommend having a collection of something fairly boring. When you want someone to leave, just whip out your old sock collection!
  • Item IIX: Flashlights – You never know when you’ll be trapped somewhere with no natural lighting; that’s why I have a lot of flashlights. I think that you should have at least three different types of flashlights. A small, compact bright flashlight; a headlamp stupid looking but incredibly handy; and a large, incredibly bright flashlight. I recommend a Maglight.
  • Item VII: Batteries – Along the lines of tape, this rather mundane but necessary item is a must have. All of those flashlights have to work somehow! You can also plug two 9-volts together and make little heaters. Just… be careful, sometimes they blow up. 
  • Item VI: Fire-Making Instruments – One of the most important or at least fun items on this list contains fire. I have a few different types of lighters, a flint and steel, and a few other means of ignition. I would say that a cigar lighter is my favorite, it burns hot and fast, and uses simple butane fuel. And you can get them cheap at Wal*Mart.
  • Item V: Chopping Devices – You never know when you might need to chop down a tree. I found that my machete (a Gerber Gator with a saw on the other side of the blade) was an invaluable companion with me on my last backpacking trip. I also own some other machetes, a few saws, a hatchet, and various power tools.
  • Item IV: Knives – Very similar to chopping devices, this one is a more personal item. I recommend that every boy should have at least 10 knives. A pocket knife for each day of the week, plus a large knife, a multitool, and a swiss army knife. Knives are tools, not weapons, so to any motherly type people out there: don’t get too nervous. I’ve only cut myself badly enough to go to the hospital once…
  • Item III: Projectiles – and the thing with which to fire said projectiles. This includes air guns, real guns, bows, slingshots, catapults, and swingsets. Air guns and slingshots are absolutely necessary when there is an excess of plastic bottles or other targets too unfortunate to consider moving elsewhere.
  • Item II: Legos – The most important and necessary part of any boy’s life, Legos are a must-have. These wonderful playthings are the stock of any good toy-box and will carry memories for years. If diamonds are a girl’s best friend, then Legos are a boy’s. Speaking of which, have you seen the new Pirates sets? 
  • Item I: Pop Tarts – You knew I couldn’t make a list without including these. Pop tarts are the most delectable and perfect of the prepackaged pastries currently known. An absolute requirement for any ration box or collection of food, these are perfect for traipsing into the wilderness, playing games, or satisfying midnight snack desires. Don’t leave home without them.  For uses of pop tarts, see a previous post entitled get this Pop-Tarts.

There you have it. My complete listing of the top ten things all boys of any age should own. I have one particular item that is pretty amazing. An old 600 watt super-8 video light. What’s so special about that? You can light anything and burn anything with it. I’ve caught a 2×4 on fire with just this light. I highly recommend it to the nocturnal pyromaniacs out there.
Have a good one!
~XK

27 thoughts on “10 Things Every Boy Should Own

    Libby said:
    7 July , 2011 at 19:36

    I’ll have you know that I love Legos TOO. So there. The end. Period. 😀

      Libby said:
      7 July , 2011 at 19:37

      And knives and guns and fire-makers. 🙂

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 14:29

      Ah yes, my sincerest of apologies. I didn’t think to mention that many of the female gender would also be interested. 😛

        Claza said:
        9 July , 2011 at 13:03

        Thats right, some of us women have a keen interest too ;P
        A little tip about matches I found from the ‘sas survival handbook’: YOu can buy strike anywhere matches and make them showerproof buy dipping the heads in candle wax and letting them cool.

    AJ said:
    8 July , 2011 at 10:05

    I have most of those things haha…good list. There’d be a couple extra on mine, but those are more…grown up playthings…haha..

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 14:31

      You mean like trucks and chainsaws, right? 😛 To each his own, AJ. Thanks for the comment!

    Irfan said:
    8 July , 2011 at 16:22

    My younger brother carries some of the above mentioned items with himself 😀

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 18:22

      Heheh, as long as it’s not the machete… 😀

    Jordan said:
    8 July , 2011 at 16:28

    haha, Legos, classic. and all new legos are terrible. Seriously, Spinjitzu? ew. great list, though.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 18:21

      Ah darn, have they returned to something else along the lines of Bionicle? That was a disappointment. But really, the Pirates of the Caribbean and the revived Lego City series are pretty awesome. 😀 Thanks!

    Deray said:
    8 July , 2011 at 18:06

    Not so sure a 10y old should own knives but Legos? hell yeah!

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 18:21

      Haha, do you have a ten year old? (I had a knife since I was little… it’s ok as long as you teach him how to use it properly.) 🙂

    Janene Murphy said:
    8 July , 2011 at 20:34

    Tee hee! I have to admit, as a mom of two boys I playfully cringed at this list. Also, it seems, my hubby is still 100% boy. Extra ten points for mentioning duct tape.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 20:43

      Haha, yes! I used to ask for duct tape and batteries for Christmas… I was easy to please. 😀 Video games were never a large part of my life. My grandma got me a Gameboy when I was younger, and I played with it a lot, but nothing beats crashing through the woods with friends and pretending to be chasing make-believe people. Thanks for the comment!

    ajibanda said:
    14 July , 2011 at 20:18

    just dropped by from Jr’s always10toplist blog… again.. i love the list you made.. 🙂

      xanthuskidd responded:
      14 July , 2011 at 21:07

      Thanks! Glad you enjoy reading it. 🙂

    Kristen said:
    16 July , 2011 at 17:57

    As a girl who had a bit of tomboy in her, I had quite a few of these myself. I had tons of matchbox cars.

    Mandy Calvin said:
    17 July , 2011 at 14:25

    “Knives are tools, not weapons, so to any motherly type people out there: don’t get too nervous. I’ve only cut myself badly enough to go to the hospital once…” Funny.
    This is an epic list, thanks for the good read.

    Rachel Allison said:
    26 July , 2011 at 07:55

    Perfect list! Brownie points for the duct tape mention. Legos are a must. I only ever had one Barbie (which ended up in a rather sad state after a few uses… sad day, right? Who would have known that barbies can’t handle scissors, mud, markers, explosives (okay, so explosives might be a slight exaggeration)? haha), but Legos are much more fun.

    P.S,
    Is this a typo I see or do my eyes deceive me?
    “I also other machetes, a few saws, a hatchet, and various power tools.”

      Rachel Allison said:
      26 July , 2011 at 07:59

      P.P.S,
      And why did you fail to mention paintball guns in the section on projectiles? XD

      xanthuskidd responded:
      26 July , 2011 at 10:13

      Thank you! I did actually have some GI Joe’s also. I suppose that would be a guy’s equivalent of a Barbie. They didn’t really last very long… they were cool, but you couldn’t really do very much with them. Thanks for pointing out the typo! I had actually noticed that and failed to fix it. 😛

      Most of my friends were into airsoft, so I never got a paintball gun. I played with some other friends though, and it was loads of fun! 😀

        Rachel Allison said:
        26 July , 2011 at 10:33

        You’re welcome(: I’ve played more paintball than airsoft, but airsoft is fun too! 🙂 And btw, I thought of one more thing for your list…. Band-aids! haha (:

        xanthuskidd responded:
        26 July , 2011 at 10:51

        I was going to add bandaids and other necessaries… but then, it’s far more fun to run through the house bleeding all over trying to find some bandages than conveniently having some on you. How many times have you seen guys carrying bandaids? 😀

        Rachel Allison said:
        26 July , 2011 at 11:43

        Well, I personally carry a pack of band-aids in my purse (along with my hammer – which everyone questions me about – It’s a very handy hammer… the back unscrews into six different sizes of screw drivers and I’ve used them on several occasions). Of course, in a guys mind, running through the house bleeding all over everything is perfectly fine, since he’s usually not the one who has to clean it up. But true, I don’t know any guys who carry band-aids. lol (:

        xanthuskidd responded:
        26 July , 2011 at 14:22

        Wow, does your purse double as a suitcase? 😀

        Rachel Allison said:
        26 July , 2011 at 14:35

        No, it triples as a suitcase… it doubles as a weapon. lol 😀

    […] list was submitted by xanthuskidd of Xanthuskidd.wordpress.com. This is a list of things that every boy (no matter what age) should […]

Tell me what you think!