Backpacking – A Photo Post

Posted on Updated on

Over the weekend my father and I went on a backpacking trip. Us being the nerdy tech types that we are, we had 4 cameras with us. I figured I’d share a few pictures with you to put a little personal twist on this blog.

After a nice drive of around 2 hours, my father and I finally arrived at Linville Gorge. The Linville Gorge Wilderness Area is a beautiful and spacious (over 11,600 acres) national park; it’s the third largest wilderness area in North Carolina. We meandered out way up to the ranger station and met the park personnel as they were opening the shop. “Let me see if I can get you any permits.” The jovial, hefty man in the green park service shirt said as he lit the gas lights and had his wife look for the permit book. “Ah, it looks like we have a few left! We can only issue 15 permits and we’ve only given out 2 so far.” After acknowledging the fellow’s advice about skunks and the dangers of yellow jackets, we headed back out to the truck for a dusty ride up to the top of the mountain.

A picture of a river. o.O
A candid shot of the river we took heading down.

I’ll try to condense the rest of the trip a little bit more… Once we had zipped up our 40ish pound packs and made sure everything was secure, we embarked on our brave expedition. Don’t worry, we did this once before in Cali, we’re bona-fide pros. Sort of…

A picture of me...
That pack was heavy... >.>

Once we had hiked the two miles down to the river, we stopped to enjoy the scene, and then kept trukin’ up the trail. On the way we saw a total of 12 people, two dogs, and a bunch of centipedes. Exciting wildlife, right?

My father and his journey...
My father's arduous trek across the perilous rocky outcrop. (lol) *Note - This is an animated gif that runs once, click to see it again.

After our hike down, we found a campsite that we liked. We set our packs down and did a little bit of exploring (i.e. I wandered around while my dad bummed on his backpack.) We soon found a better campsite that was about 25′ above the river. It was a nice little spot that had evidentially been used by a BSA troop before. As per the sock that we disposed of. 

A sock... in a fire.
This is the Boy Scout sock that we "properly retired."
Our humble little campsite.
Our homely abode for the the weekend.
A waterfall picture.
The waterfall near our camp.

After messing around in the river and wandering about, we decided that hammocks would be ideal, and promptly took a nap. We slept well that night and then wandered off to explore some more of the gorge. It was a great trip, and I’ll leave you with a fantastic photo from the preparation… I’m sure you’ll love it. 😉

o.O
Yep, that's what I do with the waterproof camping bags. =p

There you go, a complete photo journey, I even included a twist with my lovely self portrait in the form of “miroir salle de bains Facebook Photo.”

15 thoughts on “Backpacking – A Photo Post

    timethief said:
    4 July , 2011 at 22:33

    You are a good writer and photographer too. Maybe one day you may be a photojournalist and travel writer. I do see that potential. I have never been to North Carlina but if I do ever get there then Linville Gorge does appeal to me. I have done a lot of backpacking in my life but not usually as a vacation. You see I was raised in the bush — no kidding. I have lived in a teepee and in a trapper’s cabin on the edge of the arctic circle. I have lived on farms and ranches in 3 states, 3 provinces and 2 territories.

    I love the great out of doors. On one hand, for me cities are fun too but only for a short while. I’d never choose to live in one again. Been there – done that. On the other, to me the backcountry is very changing and fascinating. Been there – done that and will to continue returning to nature until I no longer draw breath.

    Thanks for sharing your adventure in your blog. Happy hiking.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 14:33

      Thanks TT! When I was younger I wanted to be a photographer, perhaps one day I’ll work on improving those skills. It sounds like you have lived a very interesting life! 😀

    nothingprofound said:
    5 July , 2011 at 07:32

    Wonderful pics and commentary, love the humor and clarity of your writing, and so moving (at least to me) that you got to share this special adventure with your Dad.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 14:34

      Thank you, NP! My Dad is a great guy, I love spending time with him.

    Flameheart said:
    5 July , 2011 at 07:33

    Haha, awesome! I’d love to do that one day (go camping while hiking, not stick a plastic bag on my head;)

    Totally agree with TT. Your writing and photos have style (a good one:)

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 14:35

      Why!? The plastic bag on the head is all the rage these days! (That’s what I was told anyway…) >.>

    Janene Murphy said:
    5 July , 2011 at 09:49

    Ha ha! Love the hat! What a beautiful park. I love all the rock. Looks like the two of you had a great time.

    Claire said:
    5 July , 2011 at 10:34

    RIP the once brave sock, at least you honoured it properly 🙂

    Man I miss hiking, even though I haven’t heaved proper backpacks before and then camped like you intrepid explorers did in this adventure.

    Looks like a beautiful place though!

    Claza said:
    5 July , 2011 at 11:42

    Great pics and you camped out too, fantastic. Burn sock burn!

    pbscott said:
    5 July , 2011 at 14:19

    Doesn’t really get any better than that, looks like a good time.

    Irfan said:
    6 July , 2011 at 18:12

    Great photography… great writing and presented greatly

    xanthuskidd responded:
    8 July , 2011 at 14:35

    Thanks everyone! It was a fantastic time! 🙂

    Deray said:
    8 July , 2011 at 18:11

    You forgot to mention you also had to be aware of the ticks, right? that park looks awesome, so different from the desert lands I’m used to 😉

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 July , 2011 at 18:27

      Actually, I we didn’t see any ticks! Those usually hang out in the pines where we live, and this was mostly a hardwood forest. I’m sure they were out there, they stayed off of us though. 😀

    Secrets of a Poet said:
    10 July , 2011 at 00:49

    You have encouraged me to want to go camping now, I’ve never been before. Great pics, especially the one the waterfall near camp and the daisy. Hmm when was the last time I picked a daisy?

Tell me what you think!

