“The Raven” like You’ve Never Heard it (Probably)

Posted on

So, I got a Mac a while back, and something I’ve always wanted to do was create a song in Garageband. I’ve never played any instruments other than the trumpet and trombone, and neither of those lend well to digital music.

Garageband has a huge library of loops. I started to play with different combinations, and I finally decided on the words I wanted to use. So, without any further ado, I give you The Raven (rap).

Yep. That’s that.

Please excuse the mis-pronunciation of “quaff” and “beak.” If I ever re-record it, I’ll fix my gaffs. 

4 thoughts on ““The Raven” like You’ve Never Heard it (Probably)

    Bethia said:
    10 November , 2015 at 13:10

    You’re awesome. (So’s The Raven.)

      xanthuskidd responded:
      10 November , 2015 at 17:51

      Haha, why thank you. I had fun with it! Poe is one of my favorite writers, and I do enjoy the Raven.

        Bethia said:
        11 November , 2015 at 08:09

        It’s definitely one of my favourite poems . . . I can quote from most of the verses, but can rarely remember what order they come in. (I find it annoying – if understandable – how most anthologies give you selected verses rather than the whole thing.)

        xanthuskidd responded:
        12 November , 2015 at 19:40

        Yes! Anthologies and collections that contain only excerpts are exceedingly annoying! I’m reading through The Orwell Reader right now, and it’s nice to get a feel for his overall writing style, but I hate getting just pieces here and there.

Tell me what you think!

