An Open Letter to Short People

Posted on

The term “short” is a fairly relative term; for example, I am somewhere in the neighborhood of 6’2″, so I’m usually not considered short. However, one of my best friends is 6’6″. When I stand next to him, I appear to be quite lacking in the area of vertical stature. This letter, however, is generally intended for those men who have not reached the height of 5’5″ or so and for those of the female genre who remain below the height of 5′.

I’ve often wondered what it’s like to be so short. Do you enjoy looking up to most people in the world? My mother is one of those ladies who has never been able to boast of a vertical advantage over anyone 5′ tall. She seems generally contented with life, so I have ruled out too severe of a psychological impact effected by her height; indeed, most people of a shorter nature tend to be rather jovial and, dare I make the comparison, gnomishly happy!

I have considered my own reaction had I been placed in a body lacking in overall longitude, and I have determined that the result would not be altogether negative. First of all, I would try out for the position of a racing jockey. I don’t know much about horses, but I’m sure I can learn. Secondly, I wouldn’t mind being able to walk through a store without being asked to get things from a top shelf. Third, I’ve often wondered what it’s like to sit in a car and not worry about having enough leg room. It must be convenient to be “travel-sized.”

Being short can’t be all that terrible of a thing; after all, many people seem to be quite happy, even though they can comfortably walk under my outstretched arms. Don’t dismay; think of all of the lovely advantages you have over taller people! You don’t have to worry about leg room, your back will probably hold out longer, you don’t have to stand in the back for group photos, you get to stand on cool little boxes when you’re behind a podium, you can easily fit into more compressed spaces, you might get mistaken for a young child every now and then, but hey! I can’t say I’ve ever had that honor! Anyhow…

What is the point of this letter, you may ask? Well, I have decided that though I shall continue to jest and make fun of those shorter than I, I will think no less of you as a person. Being short is not a choice, and for that I will not judge.

Good Day,

~XK

Disclaimer: I actually really like short people. They’re awesome. No short people were harmed (physically) in the making of this post. If you’re short, I think you’re awesome.

7 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Short People

    Rachel Allison said:
    22 August , 2012 at 08:09

    hahaha! Seeing as I’m 5’9”, I have never had to deal with these things…. except the things that you complain of – no leg room, getting stuff off the top shelf, standing in the back for group photos, ect….. those things are all quite familiar to me. I do have many short friends, however. My own mother is quite a bit shorter than me, but is still a few inches over five foot, so I would not truly consider her short. In the end, I sometimes envy people shorter than I…. they never know the frustration of your pant legs being too short, or how it feels to bend down just to hug your own grandma, or the trouble of not liking to be taller than guys (which consequently means I never wear heels)… these things can be quite bothersome. But I am sure short people have their own complaints. The grass is always greener, I suppose. I quite agree, though…. short people are awesome. 🙂

      xanthuskidd responded:
      30 August , 2012 at 15:30

      Haha, yeah. I’ve always kinda wanted to be short for a little while (get it, little while… haha… (sorry…)). I suppose each has its advantages. Somehow or another. :p

    Grey said:
    27 August , 2012 at 15:34
      Grey said:
      27 August , 2012 at 15:36

      Addendum: unfortunately that’s not good news for me because I’m 6 inches too tall to benefit. 😦

        xanthuskidd responded:
        30 August , 2012 at 15:35

        Just remember… even though they’re gonna live longer, we’ll be able to reach the stuff on the top shelf when we want it. 😉

    happinessisnotadisease said:
    7 October , 2012 at 07:36

    You only say these positive things because you’ve never been short and I’m only bitter because I’m only 5’2″. Hahahaha! No really, I have no problems with being short and I don’t hate tall people either. I love them coming from all shapes and sizes. I do wonder though how it would feel to look down literally on most people…do you ever fear riding on rollercoasters for fear of coming down headless?

      xanthuskidd responded:
      7 October , 2012 at 12:08

      You know, now that you mention it, that has been a fear of mine… some of those tunnels that the coasters go through are way too low!!

Tell me what you think!

