How to Rid Oneself of Writer’s Block

Posted on

I must admit, I’ve come down with a very serious case of writer’s block. I don’t think it’s contagious, but I’ve taken the precaution of wearing a face mask, and you may want to wash your hands after you finish reading this.

I decided that the best way to rid myself of this plague is to force myself to write something. Writing something is usually not a difficult task, though it seems that lately I’m all ideas. I come up with a great idea, I gradually forget it, then I record pieces and fragments. I currently have about 15 unfinished drafts in my “new posts” folder. I just can’t seem to get past the first paragraph in any of them. I’ve tried caffeine, loud music, cats, and spinning in my chair, but none of it seems to be working.

I went back and read some of my old posts. All I accomplished with that was the discouragement of myself and the editing of some of the less-well-written posts.

I tried blogging in a college setting, but I got distracted by my surroundings and instead wrote a rather depressing note.

I tried to do a photo blog, but my camera doesn’t seem to work on its “take all the pictures on its own” mode.

I’ve been working on a special blog post, but it needs to be perfect, and perfection is proving very difficult to obtain.

I thought about writing some fiction, but I discovered that my idea’s already been taken and run with for quite a distance. I do hate beating dead horses; they’re so stinky.

So, in the end, I decided to scribble a bit about my lack of motivation to write. My lack of motivation stirred an even stronger motivation to shed my lackadaisical spirit and move on to a greater state of non-writing-impairedness. (I’m having fun making up words.)

So, I’m not sure if I’ve cured the block or merely dissuaded it from affect for a while. This seems to have worked  well, as this post was written fairly quickly and with relative ease. Perhaps the writer’s block is gone. Perhaps I can once again use my keyboard for more than just logging in. Perhaps my sandwich is ready, but that doesn’t have much to do with this post… 

Good Day!

~XK

9 thoughts on “How to Rid Oneself of Writer’s Block

    bobby39 said:
    11 August , 2012 at 12:00

    Writing can be a difficult task if you do not have a plan.

    junebug65 said:
    11 August , 2012 at 15:44

    Hey, whatever works. Different things work at different times. Don’t question it too much. Creativity ebbs and flows.

    Remind me I said this next time I’m pulling my hair out.

    Janene said:
    12 August , 2012 at 20:41

    Ha ha! Looks like you came up with the best idea — write about what’s been afflicting you! I’ve done everything you listed. One of them usually works. When it doesn’t, I just bag it. No sense getting worked up when there are so many more important issues out there.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      30 August , 2012 at 15:31

      Yep! Now… to write about something interesting that people will actually appreciate.. =D

    melodylowes said:
    18 August , 2012 at 00:32

    I can’t tell you how relieved I am to read that you used a mask and that no fellow bloggers were harmed in the creation of this post. Good hygiene in these matters is essential… 🙂

      xanthuskidd responded:
      30 August , 2012 at 15:32

      It is very important! Incredibly so. I shudder to think of the countless hoards of unprotected writers who infect the innocent masses of internet users. Or something like that… ;D

        melodylowes said:
        30 August , 2012 at 18:27

        Famous last words… How goes the battle?

Tell me what you think!

