On Unicorns

Posted on

I don’t know when the last time was that I posted about unicorns, but it’s definitely been far too long. I’m not really sure what all to say about unicorns, but I have a lot I’d like to say. If one was to read the EULA for this blog, he or she would find that unicorns are an essential belief for any who call themselves a reader of this humble blip in cyberspace.

First of all, I think the image of the unicorn has been vastly denigrated. The creatures who once possessed great strength and power have been reduced to little glittery creatures too closely associated with rainbows and Barbie dolls. I think any toy maker would think twice about his choice of portrayal were he to meet a real unicorn. Always beware of making fun of anything with a sharp horn–particularly mythical creatures. 

Unicorns have vastly influenced our society. Did you know that unicorns are in the Bible? From the Oxford English Dictionary entry on unicorns:

c1580 Sir P. Sidney tr. Psalmes David xxii. xiii, Show to heare me, By aiding, when fierce Vnicornes come neere me.

Obviously, one could not disregard the Psalter in favor of modern myths and tales! I mean, King David calls them fierce! This coming from the guy who killed Goliath, I wouldn’t want to mess with those creatures.

In the Chronicles of Narnia, Unicorns are noble creatures, most decidedly not glittering fairy-ponies. Although, Tolkien seemed to think too lowly of unicorns, for they never show up in Middle Earth

To be honest, I believe some conspiracy is afoot. The great and noble elves have been reduced to cooking-baking and toy-making midgets, the fairies have been made into tiny ladies that steal children’s teeth, and even dragons are being domesticated!

Most drastic and unfortunate of all of the degradation of the creatures of old, however, is that subjection of the mighty unicorn to the position of gaily colored little ponies. I’m sorry, but something is seriously wrong with our culture. What do you think? Do you think that unicorns, dragons, fairies, and other mythical creatures deserve their lowly position in today’s culture?

Until Next Time,
~XK

8 thoughts on “On Unicorns

    janenemurphy said:
    27 May , 2012 at 16:18

    I rather like sparkly unicorns….That is, when I was young. I think everything’s more commercialized these days, with different incantations of creatures depending on the intended audience.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      4 June , 2012 at 20:25

      I suppose they do have a certain allure to a certain dynamic. 😉

    Sci-Fi Gene said:
    27 May , 2012 at 16:37

    Absolutely right. Just from an evolutionary standpoint alone that spike can only be an offensive or defensive weapon. Traditional fairy tales actually carry warnings against human and animal threats: teaching our children that unicorns, like vampires, are our sparkly friends, is a mistake that could cost them their lives.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      4 June , 2012 at 20:26

      Indeed! Let’s just teach kids that playing with dragons is ok! Wait… we already did that.

    happinessisnotadisease said:
    4 June , 2012 at 22:06

    I always pictured my unicorn to be a glossy black with very fierce eyes and a very temperamental nature. He has to be wild because that is really how it should be (according to me, ha!). But of course, Barbie – makers has to ruin that. Oh well.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      2 July , 2012 at 15:48

      Haha! Sounds good to me! 😀

    thomas peck said:
    24 June , 2012 at 03:09

    Unicorns pop up regularly in the Harry potter books. I’m all for more fantastical creatures everywhere. Bring it on!

      xanthuskidd responded:
      2 July , 2012 at 15:49

      I have yet to read the series; I really should do so. I’d love to see them around! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

