What Your Web Browser Says About You

Posted on

Ok, I’m sure you’ve seen a post like this before, but this horse ain’t dead yet! A web browser says a lot about a person, much like the style of his or her clothing, so what does your web browser say about you? Warning, intense generalizations to follow.

If you use Internet Explorer, congratulations! You use the most popular web browser in the world. Unfortunately, that makes you a sheep. You are probably an old person, a kid using his parents’ computer, or a Microsoft employee. My condolences. You probably still use the library,drive a sedan, and often forget your password. You like iced tea. See those toolbars up there? Yeah, they don’t help you at all…

If you use Google Chrome, you’re probably a pretty hip kid. “Kid” here used figuratively. You downloaded Chrome because you heard that it was fast, and you hate waiting for slow software. You like the minimalism, and you love Angry Birds. You probably also like Bugattis, Peregrine Falcons, and Twitter. You’d like a Mac, but you don’t want to pay all that money for a shiny incompatibility machine. You probably like Dr. Pepper or Root Beer. Just beware, one day Google will turn evil, then all of the Chrome machines will rise up and take over their users. The Zomboogle Apocalypse.      

Firefox has a wide variety of users, and it is probably the third most popular web browser. If you use Firefox, you probably like to think you’re pretty tech savvy. You’ve experimented with Linux, and you like consistency and reliability, but you really don’t like Microsoft. You probably have a ton of tabs open all the time, and you use Steam for your computer games. You probably like Mountain Dew. You could also be one of those people who use Firefox because it was recommended by someone more tech savvy than you. If this is the case, then keep browsing happily, and don’t click anything dubious; your tech person really doesn’t like it when you totally crash your PC.

You use a Mac, hopefully. If you use Safari with Windows, then a) you really want a Mac or b) you were lured in by the prettiness of it. Like most Mac users or user wannabes, you like pretty things. You probably really enjoy art, be that music, visual or written. You wish everyone was as cool as you, but you tolerate most people. You like fancy coffee. In the Zomboogle Apocalypse, Safari users will be the elite few with working computers, aside from the loyal Bing and Yahoo followers. 

You’re awesome! No, really, let me give you a hug. You like fast software, open source software, and pretty stuff. You love beta testing things; you’re basically a software hipster. You’ve probably said something like “Oh, I’m using the pre-alpha developer release of that. You probably haven’t heard of it…”You love innovation, uncommon features, and strange foods. You probably don’t care what’s on TV, and you wish Internet Explorer was dead, but you like Google. You probably enjoy hot tea. 

That’s a summary of the big 5 web browsers; did the descriptions match? If they didn’t, you should examine your life and come talk to me later. What web browser do you use? Vote below, and share with your friends! 

Peace,
~XK

19 thoughts on “What Your Web Browser Says About You

    My Wyoming Adventure said:
    15 May , 2012 at 22:38

    That’s funny. My husband still uses Internet Explorer. I, myself, us Firefox. However, my son recommend Firefox to me. He is definitely more tech savvy.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      16 May , 2012 at 19:57

      Haha, that’s cool. I like Firefox, but I’m a devoted Opera user. 🙂

    Rachel Allison said:
    16 May , 2012 at 07:58

    Firefox here! Both brothers use Chrome and tell me that Firefox is glitchy, but I haven’t had a problem with it. And the multiple tabs thing…. how did you know? haha 😉

      xanthuskidd responded:
      16 May , 2012 at 19:58

      I’m psychic. o.O

      Lol, but yeah, Firefox is slow, that’s the only complaint I have with it.

    timethief said:
    16 May , 2012 at 16:22

    I answer many questions on the wordpress.com support forums alomost every day. Most issues that arise are with IE and Chrome browsers and Firefox and Safari produce the least issue ie. rarely any at all. I prefer Firefox but to me a browser is just a tool. I’m not a person who clings to brands.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      16 May , 2012 at 20:01

      IE is a messy browser. Some sites are built to work with IE and only IE, others absolutely hate it. I prefer Opera because of the level of customization, accessibility, and developer tools that come with it.

      I usually stick with underdog brands, just because I’m like that. In the long run, brand isn’t as important to me as functionality.

    Dan (@zotwot) said:
    17 May , 2012 at 13:20

    Wow, that was pretty accurate! I’m a hip Chrome kid myself!

    I have a suggestion for you too: make it easier to write a comment from the main page. It took me a while to work out where the comments bit was as it just says “3 replies” and is amongst lots of other text. Just a suggestion but it might help people comment more.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      17 May , 2012 at 22:30

      Cool! Glad you thought so.

      That is a good suggestion; I think I’m going to redesign my blog completely pretty soon, so that will be a consideration! That was one downside I noticed when I adopted this theme. (Just as a side note, the comments can be accessed by clicking the little chat bubble looking thingy near the title of each post.)

    Filman Santiago said:
    19 May , 2012 at 11:53

    Most often I am using chrome, next is firefox and still I am using IE. But the last two I usually use for testing purposes of how my blog looks like when I am adding some plugins, banners etc. LOL!

      xanthuskidd responded:
      19 May , 2012 at 14:31

      I like Chrome, but I’m still a loyal Opera user. 😀

    Moonomo said:
    19 May , 2012 at 14:43

    LOL

    That’s quite a inside about a person who using those browsers! What about using multiple browsers? Duh!

    Firefox takes most of my time on a windows box, and chrome. On Mac, its Safari, second is Firefox (Only recently Chrome). On iPad/iPhone- it’s definitely Opera, Safari and Occasionally Atomic Web. On Linux- Firefox.

    Overall, Firefox, Chrome, Safari and Opera. Only on Windowx 7, IE getting chance- latest version isn’t that bad it used to be!

    Thanks for the fun! :))

      xanthuskidd responded:
      19 May , 2012 at 18:22

      Nice mix! I suppose you can pick and choose which attributes you like, then. 😉

      I use Chrome as my secondary browser quite a bit. Opera is available for all the OS’s, though, so I still use it as my main. 🙂 The next Opera will be cool; it has hardware acceleration, so internet games and heavy java/flash applications should run better. I like the beta, so far.

      Thanks for stopping by!

    Adventure Traveler said:
    21 May , 2012 at 18:05

    I run chrome, ff, and safari and keep them all open, all the time. Running a website means constantly testing it on different browsers, so I like to check everything constantly. Internet Explorer is rubbish, but I even try to keep the IE users happy too.

    Adobe Browser Lab is pretty useful for testing a site on all of the browsers too.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      22 May , 2012 at 10:48

      IE users are important, after all, they make up almost a third of the web users. :p I actually like the Win. 8 version of IE that’s coming out. It’s nice and light.

    CindysIdeas said:
    27 May , 2012 at 10:37

    Fun stuff to read. I love all the commentaries you posted with each type of browser. So true about many of them in my opinion.

    Trenchcoat said:
    8 June , 2012 at 01:57

    I use all the above but not opera. Guess I’ll try it sometime in the future. I also use Bing and Xscope.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      8 June , 2012 at 09:16

      Cool! Do you use x-scope for Mac or Android?

    Hugo said:
    16 July , 2012 at 16:51

    Nice article! I use firefox (opera on my phone) myself, but i approve of basically anything but IE.

Tell me what you think!

