On Cutting (Hair)

Posted on

One interesting societal construct is that of hairstyles. It seems as if many people are defined by their hair. One of the main things that I notice and remember people by is their hair. I’ve never really cared too highly about my hair looks. I have never gone out on a limb and changed my hairstyle to anything crazy. I’ve always worn my hair in one of two ways: short or long. I have considered dying it. I think red and black would be pretty sweet. 

I recently got it into my head that having my hair cut short would be a good idea. Don’t ask me why I had that idea. I haven’t had a short haircut in somewhere around 10(ish) years. Here’s what I looked like before my haircut:

Now my hair is much shorter. In fact, many people don’t even recognize me when they first see me.

As you can see, a bit of a transformation has taken place. I’m still not sure if I like the new look. I think I’ll let it grow out to a happy medium. The reactions I’ve gotten from people have been great. My favorite response is “Wow, did you get a haircut?” No, I was wearing a wig for all these years…

But enough about my hair; what’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done to your hair? What would you do if you absolutely didn’t care what people thought about you?

Until Next Time,
~Chris

7 thoughts on “On Cutting (Hair)

    The Person Whose Cat You Should Visit said:
    30 March , 2012 at 19:45

    Chopped 3 feet of the stuff off…it didn’t need that many appendages anyway. Also, I think the cute baby owl feather look works for you.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      1 April , 2012 at 13:31

      If I had more than 3 ft of hair, I think I would chop some off too. Just sayin’

    mama said:
    30 March , 2012 at 20:46

    You look very “intense” with short hair. Mama loves you any way you wear it!

    Rachel Allison said:
    30 March , 2012 at 21:06

    I had this idea when I was little (probably about 7 or 8) that I really wanted a short hair cut. I think it was because my best friend had recently gotten her hair cut short and it looked really cute! Here’s the thing though… my best friend has pencil thin, blonde hair that lays perfectly. I, on the other hand, have insanely thick, dark brown hair that has a mind of its own. Anyway, after hours of convincing my mom that I really did want my hair short, she finally gave in and the whole thing resulted in what my family now refers to as my “Dora the explorer days.” Needless to say, I was anxious for it to grow out; my Spanish is rusty. lol 😛
    What would I do if I absolutely didn’t care what people thought about me? I’d get some crazy long hair extensions (because I’ll never be patient enough to actually grow my hair out that long) and do some sort of mythical look, probably inspired by Arwen.
    Boy… that’s a long comment. 😛

      Rachel Allison said:
      30 March , 2012 at 21:09

      P.S, I think you look more like a home-school kid with your new haircut. Not to stereotype or anything… lol

      xanthuskidd responded:
      1 April , 2012 at 14:00

      Wow, that is a long comment, Dora. lol

      Mythical look would be pretty sweet. There are a few girls here on campus who have done some cool LOTR looking braids.

      @HS reference. Why would you ever think that? 😉

Tell me what you think!

