Experiments with HDR

Posted on Updated on

I posted a week or so ago about HDR. I had a chance over the weekend on the camping trip to get some more pictures. These pictures were all taken with a cheap point-and-shoot (Fuji FinePix A610) and converted to HDR in Photomatix.

Using the method I did to take HDR photos, I needed to steady the camera for about 10-15 seconds–however long it took for me to take 3 pictures of the same scene. Unfortunately, I did not have a tripod here at school. Somebody’s trash solved my problem, though! While at the campground, I found a bolt laying on the ground that was a bolt on one side and a wood screw on the other. The bolt was the same size as a tripod mount! So I made a monopod out of my walking stick and used that for the pictures. +1 for innovation. 

I’ve created a Flickr account with my favorite pictures that I’ve taken. You can click this link to view the images in their original sizes, download, them, or scoff at my amateurishness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cheers!
~XK

9 thoughts on “Experiments with HDR

    mama said:
    23 March , 2012 at 11:20

    Love the innovativeness and pictures!

    Grace said:
    5 May , 2012 at 14:21

    Wow, pretty impressive (:

      xanthuskidd responded:
      6 May , 2012 at 19:23

      Thanks! Glad you like them. 🙂

    timethief said:
    5 May , 2012 at 15:18

    +1 for innovation
    I like what you are doing here and I’m pleased you are willing to share the process with us as well as the products.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      6 May , 2012 at 19:24

      Thank you, TT! It’s a fun process.

    kris landt said:
    6 May , 2012 at 07:27

    gorgeous photography with stunning detail…bravo, Chris!

      xanthuskidd responded:
      6 May , 2012 at 19:25

      Much thanks! I am glad that you like the photos.

    nothingprofound said:
    6 May , 2012 at 18:01

    Great photos, Chris. A fine variety of moods.

Tell me what you think!

