Ouachitalkin’ about?

Posted on Updated on

I’m back! Yay. This weekend, two of my friends from school, Craig and Michael, and I went to Ouachita (ooo-ah-chi-taw) National Park. Not too many exciting things occurred, but we did have fun. Here are some glimpses of that trip.

I learned that there are way too many snakes on Lake Ouachita. I mean, everywhere we turned, snakes were waiting for us. This guy was interesting; I think he’s a hognose snake. We came across him right before he decided to munch on a toad.

Butterflies really like to eat soot. Don’t ask me why, but these butterflies were really attracted to an old campfire pit.

 Food tip #1. When traveling into the wilderness. take some potatoes, celery, carrots, meat, and onions. Season the ingredients and wrap them in aluminum foil. Cooking the packets over a fire produces great results.

Lake Ouachita, although abounding in snakes, does have some great sunsets. We were only there for two sunsets, but both nights were great.

Finally, we headed back to campus.

These are only a few of the pictures I took. Tomorrow, I’ll be posting a follow-up post to my HDR experiments post. The sunsets provided for a good venue in which to play with HDR. (None of the pictures in this post are edited or HDR.)

Have a great day!
~ Chris

3 thoughts on “Ouachitalkin’ about?

    nothingprofound said:
    19 March , 2012 at 19:17

    Some great photos, Chris. Glad you had a fun time, but it seems you usually do.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      20 March , 2012 at 20:11

      Thanks! I do my best. 🙂

    mama said:
    23 March , 2012 at 11:24

    Sorry, I seem to have passed on to you my ability to attract snakes! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

