The Different Moods of Music ~ From Adele to Dubstep

Posted on

If you were to open up my iTunes library right now, you would probably think me a very strange person. Maybe I am a strange person, but that’s irrelevant. I tend to be quite diverse in my musical tastes, and letting my library shuffle through its selection has been known to leave roommates and friends alternately dancing and cringing, simultaneously. I know; that was deep. When I was younger, my musical selection consisted of what was in my parents’ CD racks. Mom and Dad were the leaders for my church’s youth group, so my musical influences consisted of old Christian rock, CCM, and whatever my dad listened to on the radio. To this day, I openly shun all ’70s music.

As I progressed through my childhood and into my mid-teens, I suddenly discovered this wonderful thing known as Christian hard rock (Disciple, Red, Kutless, etc). Skeptical at first, I soon grew to love this lyrically clean and instrumentally loud form of music. Blasting it through my portable CD player, I was as happy as a boy could be. Until, that is, I met the world of online streaming music.

The proverbial metaphorical horizons of my mind began to expand. The sky and our 56k modem was the limit. I was introduced to ’90s Grunge, Indie, Pop, and ’50s swing. Yes, swing. Get over it. During the course of my years in 4H and other social conglomerations, I discovered the addictiveness of Pop and learned to live with the repetitive mass of guitars, banjos, and rednecks that is known as Country.

This brings us to college. A happily oblivious freshman, I soon was exposed to the wonders of cultural diversity. My old roommate is from California, my best friend hails from Rhode Island, and the rest of my friends converged from around the country and globe. My ears feasted eww… bad mental image on the wonders of Alternative Rock, Hipsteresque Indie bands, and strange mixtures of Rap and Rock. My musical journey, however, did not near completion until this past semester.

A strange, arrhythmic mash-up of popular songs and spoken word began to invade the halls of my dorm. Heavy bass drops and incomprehensible lyrics were heard throughout the internets. The era of Dubstep had begun. I found myself liking this strange and wonderful genre, and I soon added songs from Skrillex and Deadmau5 to my library.

I now have music for practically every mood, and I listen to most of it on a fairly frequent basis. When I’m feeling contemplative, I throw on some Adele, Evanescence, or Anberlin. When it’s time to study, you can find my speakers playing the soundtrack from Pirates of the Caribbean or Inception. When I’m feeling happy, the bass is booming and Lady Gaga, Cascada, or Linkin Park is singing to me. When I’m in the mood for something different, you can hear the Decemberists, Dropkick Murphys, or Needtobreathe entertaining the area. When I’m hopped up on caffeine, well, you never know what might come on. #BlueDaBaDee

That sums up my musical experience. I still don’t listen to much ’70s, country, or rap, but that’s mainly due to the musical influences of my childhood–in one way or another. I noted only a few of my favorite bands above, I listen to a much wider variety than I have space or you have attention span to list here. What are your favorite genres and bands? Leave a comment below and feel free to link to a youtube video!

Happy listening!
~ Chris

8 thoughts on “The Different Moods of Music ~ From Adele to Dubstep

    bryan o'shea said:
    19 February , 2012 at 01:33

    absolutely love the fact that your taste is all over the place! i’m a dancer, so i tend to hear a bit of everything from everywhere, and my ipod top hits range from beethoven to guns n’ roses then takes a left turn after you pass britney spears…may i suggest some angels and airwaves for those late night chill out moments? good stuff.

      xanthuskidd responded:
      19 February , 2012 at 12:26

      Hey there! Dancing is one thing, amongst many others, that I have never excelled at… I usually think I can dance, until I actually try. :p

      I really like that song! I had heard a little of A&A’s music before, but I’m not sure if I’ve heard that song. Thanks for stopping by!

    nothingprofound said:
    19 February , 2012 at 16:41

    Chris, I don’t listen to music much anymore. It’s not a big part of my life. On the rare occasions I do, I prefer folk music or classic rock. Folk music for the beautiful lyrics, and classic rock for the sheer silliness of it. When I was a teenager was the only time I actually had a record collection. Most of the records I owned were do-wop. I loved the five part harmony; it sounded very beautiful to me.

    Rachel Allison said:
    24 February , 2012 at 11:30

    Growing up, we all listened to very mild Christian music. I remember skipping songs on an album from Andrew Peterson because they were “too rocky” (haha… yeah). As I got older my taste began to change, but most would still consider my music pretty mild. I’d say my top artists are probably Tenth Avenue North, Josh Wilson, Newsboys, Jamie Grace, Aaron Shust, and Phil Whickham, though some of my favorite songs are from bands that I don’t really care for with the exception of their one song. For example, I hate rap, but one of my top songs is Background by Lecrae. Or, one of my new favorites is this:

    but I don’t like any of the other songs by him.

    Anyway, I’m done with my rambling now. At least for the moment. 😉

      xanthuskidd responded:
      24 February , 2012 at 12:42

      Haha, yes. I remember thinking that Jesus Freak was quite “loud,” and I understand that many people still think that the guitars are over the top. 😀

      I like all of those that you listed, but I mostly listen to that genre when I’m in the car and it’s on the radio. Lecrae is really cool; he is the main exception to my general avoidance of rap. I have two songs by him: “Don’t Waste Your Life” (based on the Piper book) and “God is Enough.” I recommend listening to or reading the lyrics for both.
      As always, glad to see a comment from you!
      ~Chris

        Rachel Allison said:
        27 February , 2012 at 10:46

        I’ve listened to Don’t Waste Your Life a few times; it’s pretty good. Lecrae is definitely my one exception to the “rap rule.” A friend got me listening to him a while back after months of persuasion. lol I think I’ve heard of God is Enough, but I’m not sure I’ve actually heard it. I’ll have to go find it on Spotify and give it a listen.
        Just a question, what do you think of TobyMac?

        xanthuskidd responded:
        27 February , 2012 at 11:38

        TobyMac is interesting. I like about as much of his music as I dislike. I like his more “rockish” and soft stuff. I tend to dislike his rappy and soul-type music. His theology is a bit soft, at times, but I think his intentions are good. 🙂

        Rachel Allison said:
        27 February , 2012 at 13:41

        That’s pretty much what I think of him – some good, some not so good. And as far as theology, it really bugs me when artists have some songs with great lyrics and others with not so great lyrics… that’s the problem I have with TobyMac; he seems to lack consistency. But my one brother listens to him all the time and thinks me silly for excluding him from my playlist.
        Anyway, just curious. Thanks for replying. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

