Tales from Faerie — Part IV

Posted on Updated on

Continued from Part III… or Start from the beginning…
Tharen paused for a moment and cleared his throat. His youthful appearance clashed with his claims of royalty and ancient heritage, yet I could not help but feel that he was telling the truth.

[map]
A Map of the Three Kingdoms
“In the far West was the pride of Faren’s realm: Tælongaad, the city of the glistening walls. This was the seat of his land and the fortress into which he had poured all of his craftsmanship and creative abilities. The great pearl and coral gifts from the sea had been set up in the walls as decorative and imposing displays of his city’s craftsmen. The crowning accomplishment was a statue of a great white horse. The men worked for 10 years on the shaping and details of the horse. The pearls were cut to perfection and polished to reflect the passersby. The statue was placed in the center of the city and rimmed with a fountain that was kept ever flowing by a water sprite whose service Faren had won in one of his quests.

The Tælon became adept seafarers, and many set off and formed their own colonies on distant islands. Reports even came back that a land larger than that of the Three Kingdoms had been found, and that people who spoke our own language were dwelling there. The tales of old were rekindled in the hearts of our elders, and stories of how we came to dwell here began to be retold in the meeting places. The northern port became a well-known trading hub, and the races of men and others sailed from miles to trade and buy the crafts and horses of Tælongaad. We praised the One who sent us here, and peace continued its work of contradiction.

Of my land, there are many tales. My people did not dwell in any particular strong city or fortress. We preferred to wander through the wood and settle for a year or two in a pleasant field as the fancy took us. The creatures of that day were not violent, neither did we worry over any enemies, for we knew the woods better than any other. I lived for a while with my father in the High Kingdom, learning what there was to know of our lands and history. I studied the lore of our people and learned of the One who created and molded the lands. I learned how he made servants of great power to whom he granted the living and non-living clays. I was taught how they created all of the living creatures, save the Ellathe, yet the animals had not life until it was breathed into them by the One. I shuddered when I was told of the evil that also sprang from those days. How the One, by granting freewill to his servants, not only created those who could love Him, but also those who could despise His might. I learned the concept of evil, and I wondered in my mind how any could turn against a Creator and one who loved them. I rejoiced that my father had purged this land, and I took comfort in the fact that the spirits and beasts that keep and roam the lands are benevolent and good.

Many things I learned, and wise I considered myself. Yet I was a warrior who had fought only in the training grounds. I had no experience with actual evil, and I did not perceive that subtlety was counted among the greatest of the skills of the Fallen. As I have said, I was often visited by the keepers of the forest. These creatures were formed by the servants of the One to keep the woods and guard the great forests from harm. They are wise and exceedingly old. Of them I learned the old arts and ancient skills. My people were able to vanish in the forests and make nearly any useful thing from the dead branches of a tree. Great cities we built in the forests, and pets of falcons and hawks we made for ourselves. Faren would often travel down the river that you crossed on your way here. I would tell him of a new lore or skill that I had learned, and he would relate to me the latest news from afar. During the early years, our other brother would often join us and tell of his discoveries in the arts of mining and metalworking. He would bring with him jewels and swords and shiny things for our children to play with. As the years progressed, however, came less frequently; eventually, he completely ceased his visits.

Faren and I would sometimes travel to our brother’s halls. Underground in the North-East, my brother had created a vast network of tunnels and caverns that served as roads between his stone cities. He had numerous mining pits in which he was delving for all manner of precious materials. He had made alliances with the mountains and keepers of the great lakes. Of these creatures, however, little is written. Even smaller still was the trust which was granted them by Faren and myself. Still, our brother assured us that everything was going well. One day, he announced that he would be abroad on travels for some time, and that any visits by us would be met with futility. It is at this point that we now, in hindsight, count our brother as the one who shall not be named.

To be continued…

Tell me what you think!

