The Journey of a Thousand Meters – Pt. 1

Posted on Updated on

The wind was howling above my head as I ventured out of my cave and into the midst of the open land. The huge towers of vegetation loomed above my head like the legs of a giant praying mantis as I wandered among the forest of these monstrosities. A large armored animal ambled by as I checked for the scent trail that was left by the scouts. My goal was to find this wondrous cache of food that had so recently been discovered. The scouts had been overwhelmed (and nearly overwhelmed us) with their delight and pure incredulity at the enormous potential that was embodied in their find. It was not all positive feedback that they had brought though. A shadow had passed over their ecstatic demeanors as they had begun to relate where this phenomenal discovery had been made. More on that later though, my thoughts snapped back into the present and I began to take inventory of my location as I continued upon the track left by the scouts.

Suddenly the world grew dark. It was for only an instant, yet the warnings that the few elders in our tribe had drilled into our heads as young ones caused me to scamper for cover. The horrible, mind rending screech that followed caused my heart to skip a beat as I cowered beneath a boulder. The terrible cry of the winged beast was followed by tens and hundreds more. These huge flocks had become quite common as of late, their grating, ear-splitting vocalizations haunting us as we strove to go about our daily work. Fortunately, this grouping of the creatures passed far above in the great expanse that covered all things.

I often marveled at the wondrous size of all of my surroundings. The elders had stories of how this world had come to be, that we were but of the lower orders, the gigantic bipeds that menaced us with the poisons and other horrors were made to rule over all else by One who was all knowing and more powerful than any other. These were the stories, and we had no reason to doubt them, our duty is to survive, and continue about our business of providing for our tribe.

CRASH!! What seemed like an earthquake ensued. I latched onto a nearby tower with all of my strength. The world continued to shake with repetitious crashes and quakes. The darkness that had accompanied the winged beast now enveloped me again, the warmth of the midday sun vanished in an instant. I debated between climbing higher up, and exposing myself, or attempting to hide in one of the miniature canyons below. I chose the former option, and as I ascended I was amazed at what I saw…   (Part 2)

One thought on “The Journey of a Thousand Meters – Pt. 1

    […] You're in a blog – Just sayin' “Only the shallow know themselves.” ~ Oscar Wilde Skip to content HomeAboutRandomnessPhishing ScamsDisclaimerTopicsHappy Holidays! ← The Journey of a Thousand Meters – Pt. 1 […]

Tell me what you think!

